Mac Photography Tips

My Monochrome Preset for Aperture 2.0 December 9, 2009

Filed under: Aperture 2.0,Beginner Tips — Bakari Chavanu @ 5:54 am

There are are severl dozens of ways to do black and white conversions in various image editing programs. Entire books are devoted to the subject. But when I’m working in a Aperture 2.0, I start with the two basic settings described below.

The original color version.

media_1260337291196.png

My Preset for Monochrome Adjustment

media_1260337364244.png

My Preset for Sepia Tone

media_1260337400469.png

I like adding a touch of Sepia to my monochrome version in order to get rid of the stark grayscale conversion of my images. This particularly works well for portraits. Sometimes, when I’m not satisfied with the results, I use options in Photoshop.

The Monochrome Version

media_1260337313233.png

My monochrome version combines a mix of monochrome and a mix of sepia. See the presets I use for for both below.

 

2 Responses to “My Monochrome Preset for Aperture 2.0”

  1. Paul Says:

    Thanks for sharing these – they look great on some large groups I just shot – I warmed up the sepia a couple of notches for my own eyes, but the monochrome is a great base!

  2. bakari Says:

    Thanks for the feedback, Paul. I think just like with color, monochrome and sepia is going look slightly different from various computer monitors.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.